Skip to content
AEO HQ

Reference · Measuring AI visibility

AEO and AI visibility tools compared

AEO and AI visibility tools by kind: what search engine reports, analytics, prompt trackers, graders, and log tools can and cannot measure, from vendors' pages.

By , founder of AEO HQ

Published · Updated

An AI visibility tool measures how AI assistants such as ChatGPT, Google's AI Overviews, and Perplexity mention or cite a company. The tools fall into six kinds: search engines' own reports, web analytics, prompt trackers, prompt databases, one-time graders, and crawler logs with technical audits. Each measures a different part of visibility, and none sees every assistant's answers to every buyer.

This page describes what each kind can and cannot measure. Facts about each vendor come only from its own pages, as they read on September 27, 2026. The page does not rank tools or recommend one. AEO HQ sells audits, including a $499 automated audit, and other services; it does not sell a tracking tool, and this page has no affiliate links. AEO HQ's automated audit uses data from Ahrefs, one of the vendors below, as the methodology page describes. Prices are in the pricing index, and the metrics these tools report are defined in AEO metrics and KPIs.

Scope and definitions

The tools here are sold for answer engine optimization (AEO) or generative engine optimization (GEO), the work of appearing in AI answers. The directory G2 treats the two as one software category, described as "Answer engine optimization (AEO) software, also known as generative engine optimization (GEO)" (opens in a new tab), and it listed 642 products in that category (opens in a new tab) on September 27, 2026. This page covers a sample of widely listed tools, named as examples of each kind. Inclusion is not an endorsement, and leaving a tool out is not a judgment of it.

The six kinds at a glance

Kind of toolExamples (pages checked September 27, 2026)What it can measureWhat it cannot measure
Search engines' own reportsGoogle Search Console; Bing Webmaster ToolsYour links shown in AI Overviews and AI Mode; your pages cited in Microsoft's AI answersOther assistants; clicks by AI feature; named competitors
Web analyticsGoogle Analytics 4; Microsoft Clarity; analytics add-ons in several trackersVisits from links in assistants' answers, and what those visitors doAnswers that produce no click; app visits that carry no referrer
Prompt trackersProfound, Peec AI, OtterlyAI, Scrunch, AthenaHQ, Goodie, HubSpot AEO, Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit, Ahrefs Brand Radar, aeohHow often answers to the prompts you choose name or cite you and your competitorsPrompts you did not choose; answers shaped by a buyer's own account; revenue
Prompt databasesAhrefs AI Visibility Index; prompt-volume estimates in several trackersPresence across a large prebuilt set of prompts, with no setupYour buyers' own wording; how the prompts were built, unless the vendor says
One-time gradersHubSpot AI Search Grader; free checkers from Semrush and AhrefsA snapshot of how a few models describe youA rate over repeated runs; change over time
Crawler logs and technical auditsServer logs; bot analytics in several trackers; site audits, including AEO HQ's ownWhether AI crawlers can reach and read your pagesWhether answers cite or recommend you

1. Search engines' own reports

Google and Microsoft report AI appearances to site owners from their own data, in Search Console and Bing Webmaster Tools.

What they can measure. Appearances of your own site, counted by the engine itself. Google's guidance on third-party tools says that "Third-party tools don't have access to our internal ranking data," (opens in a new tab) and that Google "strongly encourage[s]" (opens in a new tab) site owners to use Search Console.

What they cannot measure. Answers from assistants that neither company reports on, answers that name you without linking to you, and your competitors' results. Microsoft does not name the "select partner integrations" its report covers. How each figure is counted is set out under first-party metrics.

2. Web analytics

Analytics tools count visits that start from a link in an assistant's answer.

What they can measure. Visits, and what visitors do next, for the assistants whose links carry a referrer.

What they cannot measure. Answers that produce no click, and visits that arrive without a referrer: traffic referred by Claude's native app does not include a Referer header (opens in a new tab) (network measurement). The numbers are small: 0.17% of the average site's visitors came from AI chatbots (opens in a new tab) in a February 2025 study of 3,000 sites (vendor study).

3. Prompt trackers

A prompt tracker sends a set of prompts to several engines on a schedule and records whether each answer names or cites you and your competitors. Profound, for example, says it "runs structured prompts across AI platforms, analyzing where and how your brand appears in responses, tracking citations, sentiment, ranking, and competitive presence" (opens in a new tab).

The table records what each vendor's own pricing or product page said on September 27, 2026. "Not stated" means the page we read did not say; the vendor may say so elsewhere.

ToolEngines named on the pageHow often prompts runEntry plan, as describedMeasures the page names
Profound (opens in a new tab)Trial: ChatGPT, Gemini, Google AI Overviews. Enterprise: up to 9, adding Perplexity, Google AI Mode, Microsoft Copilot, DeepSeek, Anthropic Claude, and Exa SearchDailyTrial: 50 prompts a day for 7 days, from a recommended set that trial users cannot customizeCitations, sentiment, ranking, competitive presence
Peec AI (opens in a new tab)Entry plans: choose 3 models. Enterprise: up to 13, several marked "API"Daily; Enterprise daily or weeklyStarter: 50 prompts, 3 modelsVisibility, position, sentiment, share of voice, citation share
OtterlyAI (opens in a new tab)ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity, Microsoft Copilot; Claude, Google AI Mode, and Gemini as add-onsDailyLite: 15 promptsBrand Visibility Index, domain ranking, link citations
Scrunch (opens in a new tab)Core: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Copilot. Enterprise: 9, adding Claude, Gemini, Meta AI, Google AI Mode, and GrokNot statedCore: 125 promptsCitations and sources, sentiment, query fan-out
AthenaHQ (opens in a new tab)Starter: 11, including ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews, AI Mode, Gemini, Claude, Copilot, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI, and MistralNot stated; billed in credits, where "1 credit = 1 AI response"Starter: 3,600 credits a monthSentiment, sources, competitor insights, prompt volume estimates
Goodie (opens in a new tab)Core: 5 (ChatGPT, AI Overviews, Perplexity, AI Mode, Copilot). Pro: 8. Enterprise: up to 13DailyCore: 120 promptsVisibility, citation analysis, sentiment, revenue attribution
HubSpot AEO (opens in a new tab)ChatGPT, Gemini, PerplexityDaily25 prompts a day, up to 2,500 answers a monthBrand visibility score, citations, sentiment, share of voice
Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit (opens in a new tab)ChatGPT, Google AI, Gemini, Perplexity"daily AI rankings"; daily, weekly, and monthly data updates25 custom promptsMentions, AI rankings, competitor analysis
Ahrefs Brand Radar (opens in a new tab) (custom prompts)AI Overviews and AI Mode, ChatGPT, Perplexity, Microsoft Copilot, Gemini; Claude availableDaily, weekly, or monthly; one check per platform, location, and updatePaid Ahrefs plans include 5 to 20 prompts, or 83 or more on EnterpriseMentions, citations, fan-out queries
aeoh (opens in a new tab)ChatGPT-style recommendations, observed "through OpenAI"Three times a day for 30 days3 prompts, 270 observations in totalRecommendations, rankings, citations, consulted sources

HubSpot's tool is covered in detail in AEO for HubSpot users.

What prompt trackers can measure

For the prompts and engines you choose, a tracker can show how often answers name you, how often they cite your pages, which other sites they cite, and how you compare with a set of competitors. Many of the pages above also list breakdowns by country, language, topic, or competitor.

What prompt trackers cannot measure

Plans cap the number of answers, so prompts, engines, and runs trade off against each other. AthenaHQ's Starter allowance of 3,600 credits a month, at one credit per AI response (opens in a new tab), covers, for example, 40 prompts on three engines once a day for 30 days, or 120 prompts on one engine (AEO HQ calculation).

4. Prompt databases

A prompt database is a large prebuilt set of prompts that a vendor runs for many brands, so you can see results without choosing prompts yourself.

What they can measure. A broad picture of which brands and sources appear across many generic prompts, with no setup.

What they cannot measure. Your buyers' own questions. A researcher at Ahrefs wrote that "it's likely that the terms people enter into Google might not be the perfect representation of what is entered in a chat platform. Unfortunately, AI platforms don't provide that data directly." (opens in a new tab) (vendor blog).

5. One-time graders

A grader gives a single, free snapshot. HubSpot's AI Search Grader is a free, one-time check of what ChatGPT, Perplexity, and Gemini say about a brand "based on their training data" (opens in a new tab). It says it currently queries GPT-5.4 mini (OpenAI), Perplexity, and Gemini, returns a result in under two minutes (opens in a new tab), and publishes its weights: sentiment up to 40 points, presence quality 20, brand recognition 20, share of voice 10, and market competition 10 (opens in a new tab). Semrush and Ahrefs also link free checkers from their product pages: Semrush lists a free "AI Visibility Checker" (opens in a new tab), and Ahrefs invites you to "Preview your AI visibility for free" (opens in a new tab). We did not test these checkers.

What they can measure. How a few models describe a brand at one moment. Because HubSpot's grader reads the models' training data, it shows what the models remember, not what an assistant finds when it searches the web.

What they cannot measure. A rate over repeated runs, or change over time. Answers vary from run to run: it took about 1 in 1,000 runs to see two brand lists in the same order (opens in a new tab) in one study (vendor study).

6. Crawler logs and technical audits

These tools check whether AI companies' crawlers can reach and read your pages.

What they can measure. Which crawlers and fetchers requested which pages, the status codes they received, and whether your robots.txt rules allow them. The difference between index crawlers and user-initiated fetchers is explained under crawler and fetcher requests.

What they cannot measure. Whether an answer used, cited, or recommended the page. Some crawlers cannot be identified by name: Brave's crawler does not advertise a differentiated user agent (opens in a new tab).

What these tools do besides measuring

Several trackers also sell work as well as measurement. The pages we read list, for example, content writers and outreach agents (Goodie (opens in a new tab)), a content optimization agent and a feature that manages AI crawler access through robots.txt and llms.txt files (AthenaHQ (opens in a new tab)), page optimizations and content generation (Scrunch (opens in a new tab)), recommended and agent-generated actions (Peec AI (opens in a new tab)), and agents that "Research, write, report" (opens in a new tab) (Profound). HubSpot's recommendations and their projected "citation lift" are discussed in the HubSpot guide linked above.

Two trackers also follow advertising inside AI answers: Peec AI's ads library shows prompts "where AI answers carry a sponsored placement, and which advertisers appear" (opens in a new tab), and OtterlyAI lists ChatGPT ads tracking (opens in a new tab).

What the evidence says about such work:

Our recommendation: treat a tool's suggested changes as ideas to test, and judge each one against pages you did not change. AEO examples shows why that comparison matters.

How to compare tools

The questions in the measurement guide linked at the top of this page apply to any tool. The table shows which of them the pages we read already answered.

Question to askWhat the pages we read said
Which engines, and which cost extra?Every page named its engines; coverage ranged from one engine (aeoh) to up to 13 on some enterprise plans
Consumer interface or API?Only Peec AI (some engines marked "API") and aeoh ("through OpenAI") said
How many runs per prompt per day?Peec AI (one per model), Ahrefs (one check per platform per update), and aeoh (three a day) said; the others said "daily" or nothing
Is there an error range?None of the ten tracker pages mentioned one
Who writes the prompts?Profound's trial uses a recommended set; others let you write, import, or generate prompts
Is a score's formula published?No tracker page gave a formula for its visibility score or index; HubSpot's documentation names the parts of its score but not how they are combined (opens in a new tab)
Can you export the raw answers?Several list exports or an API, often on higher plans; check before buying

What the evidence shows and does not show

QuestionWhat the evidence showsEvidence typeStrength
Can any tool see every AI answer about you?No. Each covers the engines and prompts it names, and third-party tools have no access to Google's internal ranking data (opens in a new tab)Official documentation; vendor pagesStrong
Do API answers match what buyers see?Often not: 12.0% and 14.8% domain overlap with the consumer interfaces (opens in a new tab)PreprintModerate
Is one run a day enough?Not for a single prompt: the standard error fell below 0.10 only at seven runs (opens in a new tab)PreprintModerate
Do a tool's prompts match buyers' wording?Not necessarily: 142 human prompts for one intent had a semantic similarity of 0.081 (opens in a new tab)Vendor studyModerate
Are mention rates stable enough to track?Largely: 77.5% of brand, prompt, and engine combinations were always or never mentioned (opens in a new tab)Preprint (vendor-affiliated)Moderate
Do the tools' recommendations raise visibility?We found no independent test of them; a review of 45 studies found no technique with a stable, cross-platform causal effect (opens in a new tab)Preprint (review)No evidence of an effect
Which tool measures most accurately?We found no independent study comparing themNoneNo evidence

Antipatterns

An antipattern is a practice that looks helpful but fails or backfires.

  1. Choosing a tool by its headline score. None of the tracker pages we read gave the formula for its score, and a score is defensible only when its weights match a stated objective (opens in a new tab). Instead, compare the rates behind the score.
  2. Comparing numbers across tools. Tools differ in engines, prompts, runs, and how they count a mention. Instead, compare one tool's figures over time.
  3. Reading daily changes as trends. A single run per prompt is a noisy estimate (opens in a new tab). Instead, read four-week windows.
  4. Treating API answers as what buyers see. APIs and interfaces cited different sources (opens in a new tab). Instead, ask how the tool collects answers, and spot-check the consumer interface.
  5. Skipping the search engines' own reports. Google encourages site owners to use Search Console whether or not they use a third-party tool (opens in a new tab). Instead, connect Search Console and Bing Webmaster Tools before paying for a tracker.
  6. Crediting a tool's suggestions without a comparison. Instead, track changed pages against unchanged ones.

Checklist

#CheckHow to verifyPass whenBasis
1The engines match your buyers'List the assistants buyers use; compare with the planEach important assistant is coveredVendor plan pages (opens in a new tab)
2Collection method is knownAsk the vendorYou know whether answers come from the interface or an APIInterface and API overlap (opens in a new tab)
3Runs per prompt are knownAsk the vendorYou know runs per prompt per engine per dayRun counts (opens in a new tab)
4Prompts use buyer wordingCompare the prompt list with sales calls and search queriesSeveral phrasings per intentPrompt wording varies (opens in a new tab)
5Raw answers can be exportedTest the exportAnswers, citations, dates, and engines exportExport options vary (opens in a new tab)
6Scores can be taken apartAsk for the formulaWeights are in writing, or you use the partsScore weights (opens in a new tab)
7First-party reports are connectedOpen Search Console and Bing Webmaster ToolsBoth are verified and reviewedSearch Console (opens in a new tab); Bing (opens in a new tab)
8Analytics has an AI channelOpen GA4 channel settingsAssistant sources have their own channelGA4 channel definition (opens in a new tab)

FAQ

What is an AI visibility tool?

Software that measures how AI assistants mention, cite, or describe a company. Most such tools send a fixed set of prompts to several assistants on a schedule and count the answers that name or link to you. G2 files them under answer engine optimization software, "also known as generative engine optimization (GEO)" (opens in a new tab).

What is the best AI visibility tool?

This page does not rank tools, and we found no independent study that compares their accuracy. The right choice depends on which assistants your buyers use, how many prompts you need, whether answers come from the consumer interface, how many runs each prompt gets, and whether you can export the raw answers. Use the comparison questions above.

Are there free AI visibility tools?

Some. HubSpot's AI Search Grader is a free, one-time check (opens in a new tab), Semrush lists its AI Visibility Checker among its free tools (opens in a new tab), and Ahrefs offers free Web Analytics and, while in beta, free Bot Analytics (opens in a new tab). Google's and Microsoft's own reports come with Search Console and Bing Webmaster Tools, and Google Analytics 4 and Microsoft Clarity count AI referral visits. None of these tracks a panel of prompts over time.

Do AI visibility tools use the real ChatGPT?

It depends on the tool, and most of the pages we read did not say. Peec AI marks some engines "API" (opens in a new tab), and aeoh says it observes ChatGPT-style recommendations "through OpenAI" (opens in a new tab). Ask each vendor, because API and consumer-interface answers can cite different sources (opens in a new tab).

How much do AI visibility tools cost?

Published prices, each linked to the seller's page, are in the pricing index. Price usually rises with the number of prompts and engines tracked.

Can a tool guarantee that AI assistants will recommend me?

No. Google says of third-party tools that "They can't guarantee performance" (opens in a new tab). A tool measures answers; it does not control them.

Should I buy a tool or hire an agency?

A tool measures; an agency or your own team does the work. How to choose an AEO agency covers the choice.

Does AEO HQ sell an AI visibility tool?

No. AEO HQ sells audits and AEO services. Its $499 automated audit is a one-time technical check with a small sample of one model's answers, not a tracking tool, as the methodology page explains.

Next steps

AEO HQ's Instant AEO Audit ($499) is a one-time, automated check of crawler access, key pages, and schema, with a five-question sample from one AI model. It does not replace a tracking tool or the search engines' own reports above.

Change log

  • September 28, 2026: First published. Vendor pages checked on September 27, 2026.

Sources

  1. Barry, B. (2026, April 9). Best answer engine optimization (AEO) tools. G2. Retrieved September 27, 2026, from https://www.g2.com/categories/answer-engine-optimization-aeo (opens in a new tab)
  2. Uberti-Bona Marin, L. G., Bertaglia, T., Astante, G., Rijsbosch, B., van Dijck, G., Hannák, A., Spanakis, G., & Kollnig, K. (2026). "If I had to buy just ONE: Galaxy S26 Ultra": Auditing AI-generated product recommendations (arXiv:2609.18729). arXiv. https://doi.org/10.48550/arXiv.2609.18729 (opens in a new tab)
  3. Google. (2026). Generative AI performance report (Search) [Search Console Help]. Retrieved September 27, 2026, from https://support.google.com/webmasters/answer/16984139 (opens in a new tab)
  4. Google. (2025, December 10). AI features and your website. Google Search Central. https://developers.google.com/search/docs/appearance/ai-features (opens in a new tab)
  5. Madhavan, K., Merchant, M., Canel, F., & Nigam, S. (2026, February 10). Introducing AI Performance in Bing Webmaster Tools public preview. Bing Webmaster Blog. https://blogs.bing.com/webmaster/February-2026/Introducing-AI-Performance-in-Bing-Webmaster-Tools-Public-Preview (opens in a new tab)
  6. Madhavan, K., Merchant, M., Nigam, S., & Shah, T. (2026, June 16). New AI visibility insights in Bing Webmaster Tools: Intents, topics, citation share, compare. Bing Search Blog. https://blogs.bing.com/search/June-2026/New-AI-Visibility-Insights-in-Bing-Webmaster-Tools-Intents-Topics-Citation-Share-Compare (opens in a new tab)
  7. Google. (2026, June 5). Google Search's guidance on using third-party SEO tools, services, and advice. Google Search Central. https://developers.google.com/search/docs/fundamentals/third-party-seo (opens in a new tab)
  8. Google. (2026). Default channel group [Analytics Help]. Retrieved September 27, 2026, from https://support.google.com/analytics/answer/9756891 (opens in a new tab)
  9. Microsoft. (2025, September 23). AIPlatform and PaidAIPlatform. Microsoft Learn (Clarity). https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/clarity/insights/ai-channel-group (opens in a new tab)
  10. Peec AI. (n.d.). Pricing for Peec AI. Retrieved September 27, 2026, from https://peec.ai/pricing (opens in a new tab)
  11. Profound. (n.d.). Pricing. Retrieved September 27, 2026, from https://www.tryprofound.com/pricing (opens in a new tab)
  12. AthenaHQ. (n.d.). Plans & pricing. Retrieved September 27, 2026, from https://www.athenahq.ai/pricing (opens in a new tab)
  13. Goodie. (n.d.). Pricing plans. Retrieved September 27, 2026, from https://higoodie.com/pricing (opens in a new tab)
  14. Ahrefs. (n.d.). Ahrefs Brand Radar. Retrieved September 27, 2026, from https://ahrefs.com/brand-radar (opens in a new tab)
  15. Belson, D., & Rhea, S. (2025, July 1). The crawl before the fall... of referrals: Understanding AI's impact on content providers. Cloudflare Blog. https://blog.cloudflare.com/ai-search-crawl-refer-ratio-on-radar/ (opens in a new tab)
  16. Linehan, L. (2025, February 6). 63% of websites receive AI traffic (new study of 3,000 sites). Ahrefs. https://ahrefs.com/blog/ai-traffic-study/ (opens in a new tab)
  17. OtterlyAI. (n.d.). OtterlyAI pricing. Retrieved September 27, 2026, from https://otterly.ai/pricing (opens in a new tab)
  18. Scrunch. (n.d.). Pricing. Retrieved September 27, 2026, from https://scrunch.com/pricing (opens in a new tab)
  19. HubSpot. (2026, August 27). Set up and analyze AEO [Knowledge base article]. HubSpot Knowledge Base. https://knowledge.hubspot.com/seo/set-up-and-analyze-ai-visibility (opens in a new tab)
  20. Semrush. (n.d.). AI Visibility Toolkit pricing. Retrieved September 27, 2026, from https://www.semrush.com/pricing/ai/ (opens in a new tab)
  21. aeoh. (n.d.). aeoh: Get recommended by AI. Retrieved September 27, 2026, from https://www.aeoh.ai/en (opens in a new tab)
  22. Fishkin, R. (2026, January 28). NEW research: AIs are highly inconsistent when recommending brands or products; marketers should take care when tracking AI visibility. SparkToro. https://sparktoro.com/blog/new-research-ais-are-highly-inconsistent-when-recommending-brands-or-products-marketers-should-take-care-when-tracking-ai-visibility/ (opens in a new tab)
  23. Kantharuban, A., Milbauer, J., Sap, M., Strubell, E., & Neubig, G. (2025). Stereotype or personalization? User identity biases chatbot recommendations. In Findings of the Association for Computational Linguistics: ACL 2025 (pp. 24418–24436). Association for Computational Linguistics. https://aclanthology.org/2025.findings-acl.1254/ (opens in a new tab)
  24. Schulte, J., Bleeker, M., & Kaufmann, P. (2026). Don't measure once: Measuring visibility in AI search (GEO) (arXiv:2604.07585). arXiv. https://doi.org/10.48550/arXiv.2604.07585 (opens in a new tab)
  25. Allsopp, G. (2025, December 4). Do self-promotional "best" lists boost ChatGPT visibility? Study of 26,283 source URLs. Ahrefs. https://ahrefs.com/blog/best-lists-research/ (opens in a new tab)
  26. HubSpot. (n.d.). AI Search Grader [Free tool]. Retrieved September 27, 2026, from https://www.hubspot.com/aeo-grader (opens in a new tab)
  27. Brave. (n.d.). Brave Search crawler. Brave Search Help. Retrieved September 27, 2026, from https://search.brave.com/help/brave-search-crawler (opens in a new tab)
  28. Puerto, H., Gubri, M., Green, T., Oh, S. J., & Yun, S. (2025). C-SEO Bench: Does conversational SEO work? Paper presented at the 39th Conference on Neural Information Processing Systems (NeurIPS 2025), Datasets and Benchmarks Track. https://arxiv.org/abs/2506.11097 (opens in a new tab)
  29. Martinez, O. (2026). Optimizing visibility in generative engines: A critical survey of generative engine optimization (2023–2026) (arXiv:2607.14035). arXiv. https://doi.org/10.48550/arXiv.2607.14035 (opens in a new tab)
  30. Kumar, P. (2026). Generative engine optimization at scale: Measuring brand visibility across AI search engines (arXiv:2606.20065). arXiv. https://arxiv.org/abs/2606.20065 (opens in a new tab)

How to cite this page

Maxwell, P. (2026). AEO and AI visibility tools compared. AEO HQ. Last updated September 28, 2026. https://www.aeohq.ai/articles/aeo-tools

More in Measuring AI visibility

Next step

Find out who AI recommends.

Book the audit to see where you rank, where AI cites you, and where competitors win. The full audit price credits toward the Blueprint within 30 days.